Books That I Should (REALLY) Read

This post isn’t about books that I want to read but about books that I really should read. I have  a lot of books and series that I generally don’t have an interest in but I’m constantly hearing from other literature lovers how great they are. I can’t talk about books without people being shocked I haven’t read these titles and honestly I’m surprised I haven’t read them either. Why am I picking up new books I’ve never heard of instead of reading books I’ve been meaning to read for years? I don’t know. I really don’t know. I’m going to go over the series first.

The first series that comes to mind is The Chronicle of Narnia by C.S. Lewis.

a4

Although I don’t own this series, my family has two full sets of it and I still haven’t read it. The books are tiny! I could read them in 2 days max but I can’t even bring myself to start them which is ridiculous.

The next series is The Lord of the Rings Trilogy by J.R.R Tolkien

a5

I don’t feel so bad for not reading this because I’m almost certain that if I did I would like it given my dislike for fantasy. Still, it feels odd whenever people ask if I’ve read this I have to say “No, I purposely don’t read those books” and then they just look at me, really confused. I try to explain that I don’t like fantasy so that’s why I haven’t given them a try but it’s still bad and I know it.

The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

a6

No, I haven’t read all of them! Please don’t hate me! I read the first tow of them and the first half of the third but, um… I didn’t like them? I’m sorry! Really!

merida frustrated

You have no idea how much I wish I liked these books but I just don’t. It’s the fantasy… stupid dislike of fantasy keeping me form reading things…

And onto the stand alones. The first one for that would have to be The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain

a7

You have no idea how easy it would be for me to read this book. I have a copy. It’s maybe 150 pages with pretty illustrations and I’ve even picked it up before and read the first 20 pages but I just can’t convince myself to pick it up again.

Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt

a8

I don’t even know why I feel like I have to read this book, I just do. I’ve seen the movie countless times because my family loves it so much (though I don’t really care for it) and after watching a movie 10 times or so and you find out there’s a book you kind of just feel like you have to read it.

And that is all! Although there are definitely plenty more books I feel like I should read but these are the ones that came to mind immediately. Like I said, I lack caring. I don’t want to read these books I just know that I should. I’m not good at forcing myself to read books that I don’t like. I DNF books all the time if I don’t like them because the fact of the matter is I have plenty of other books that I would love to read. However, as the literature nerd that I am I feel practically obligated to read these books.

Do you have any books like this? It’d be nice to know that I’m not the only one (which I am, of course, not.)

Leave a comment